Turkey brining a la mode!

In this blog, I will be writing about the brining process of a turkey.  After watching this video I couldn’t help but to see it runs in the family! Lol!  Actually, I was very tired I went to bed about 2 am but that is no excuse. I believe when you are passionate about something which to me is “cooking” then this is how my passion comes out.  Passion to me is Love! 🙂

So, now off to the nitty gritty!  Although I made a video and it describes what ingredients I used and how I made my brine, I will write it as well in case i missed something.

Ingredients:

Half of cup of Kosher Salt

Half of cup of Sea Salt

1 Carton of Brown Sugar

2 Qts of Apple Juice or  Apple Cider or you can replace Apple Juice for 1 Carton of Chicken Broth.

2 oranges

2 lemons

Celery sticks (optional)

Seasonings (rosemary, pepper, thyme, sage, ginger, garlic, laurel leaves, onion, whole cloves, any dried ingredients you want)

Instructions:

You will add everything to a “pot”.  Apple Juice, Half cup of Kosher salt, Half cup of Sea Salt, package of Brown Sugar, 2 oranges cut in half and 2 lemons. You can add more if you want depends how fruity you want it. I use 2 of each.  Celery sticks and all dried ingredients: (rosemary, pepper, thyme, sage, ginger, garlic, laurel leaves, onion, whole cloves)

Boil to high heat and then to medium heat until it starts to smell really yummy.  Mix the salts well because these are the most important ingredients in making a brine. The turkey meat will dissolve with the salt and do not worry, the turkey will not be salty.  All it does is break down the meat to make it juicy.

One tip: If you are going to use “Chicken Broth” instead of the “Apple Juice” look at the carton to see if it’s  not “low sodium” if it’s not, then you will use less than half a cup of sea salt and kosher salt. The turkey then will be too salty.  So, to be on the safe side buy low sodium chicken broth.

Another tip: Kosher salt has less content of salt soo, it’s not salty. It’s not like regular table salt. This is why you are able to use 2 types of salts.

And that’s it! Your Done!  Just let it cool down or put it in the refrigerator so it can chill.

I will make another video brining the turkey.  Stay tuned!

~ Laura~

Leave a Reply

